Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search
Close.

Out of State Residency Prior to Fall 2019

Out of State Residency Prior to Fall 2019

A student who resides in a state other than Texas, is considered a non-resident.

Senate Bill 1272 may allow students residing in Oklahoma, Arkansas, certain counties in New Mexico, or certain parishes in Louisiana to receive a waiver to pay a lowered non-resident tuition. Please review the information below to see if you qualify for this waiver.

In-State Tuition Rate

A non-resident student who resides in Oklahoma, Arkansas, certain parishes in Louisiana (see below), and certain counties in New Mexico (see below) will receive the in-state tuition rate.

Arkansas All counties in Arkansas

Oklahoma All counties in Oklahoma

Border Parish Louisiana -Bordering parishes listed below

  • Beauregard Parish
  • Caddo Parish
  • Calcasieu Parish
  • Cameron Parish
  • DeSoto Parish
  • Sabine Parish
  • Vernon Parish

Border County New Mexico Bordering counties listed below

  • Union County
  • Quay County
  • Curry County
  • Roosevelt County
  • Lea County
  • Eddy County
  • Otero County
  • Dona Ana County

In-State Tuition Rate plus $30.00 per credit hour

A non-resident student who resides in the 44 contiguous states including all other counties in New Mexico and all other parishes in Louisiana will pay the in-state tuition rate plus $30.00 per credit hour.

International Student Tuition Rates

In accordance with Section 54.051(d) of the “Texas Education Code,” the university will set the tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for academic year 2014-2015 at $412.00 per semester credit hour (SCH) plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition the institution charges. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and law. Those students can find the tuition rates in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the “Texas Education Code.”

Non-Resident Information for the Fall 2019 term and greater:

Non-Resident Information

A student who resides in a state other than Texas, is considered a non-resident.

Senate Bill 1272 may allow students residing in Oklahoma, Arkansas, New Mexico and Louisiana to receive the in-state tuition rate. 

In-State Tuition Rate

A non-resident student who resides in Oklahoma, Arkansas, New Mexico and Louisiana will receive a waiver that will equate to the in-state tuition rate.

In-State Tuition Rate plus $30.00 per credit hour

A non-resident student who resides in the 44 contiguous states will pay the in-state tuition rate plus $30.00 per credit per hour.

Foreign Student Tuition Rates

In accordance with Section 54.051(d) of the “Texas Education Code,” the university will set the tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in public universities and health-related institutions for academic year 2014-2015 at $412.00 per semester credit hour (SCH) plus any designated tuition and, when appropriate, Board-authorized graduate tuition the institution charges. Exceptions include tuition rates for nonresident students enrolled in medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and law. Those students can find the tuition rates in other paragraphs of Section 54.051 of the “Texas Education Code.”

  • 7101 University Ave
  • Texarkana, TX 75503
  • p: 903.223.3000
  • f: 903.223.3104
.Back to Top